Commissioner Adam H. Putnam

Florida Agriculture: 500 Years in the Making

Agricultural Awards and Honors

Woman of the Year in Agriculture Award

Women have played a crucial role in the history of agriculture in Florida. Not only did they raise the children, maintain the home, care for the sick and injured, and provide grounding for the family, they toiled alongside their husband in the fields and pastures. They were the epitome of perseverance, strength, resolve, and dignity.

Since 1985, woman who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture have been honored with the “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award. This award, sponsored by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in conjunction with the Florida State Fair Authority, is presented to the recipient during the Florida State Fair in Tampa.

Recipients of the “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award have come from all parts of the industry including cattle, vegetables, timber, citrus, row crops, equine, horticulture, tropical fruits, sugar cane, dairy, agricultural journalism, and agricultural education and outreach.

In 2001 the award program was enhanced to help heighten awareness about the women who have helped make Florida agriculture into the important industry that it is today. Since then, a documentary video about each new recipient has been shown during the award ceremony, and a booklet outlining her contributions to agriculture distributed to those in attendance.

Award Recipients

Woman of the Year in Agriculture Award
Recipient Residence
2012 Imogene Yarborough Geneva
2011 Sarah K. Childs Lake Placid
2010 Ann Holt Wellington
2009 Marcia Lightsey Lake Wales
2008 Patsy Nathe Dade City
2007 Colleen Boggs Homestead
2006 Iris Wall Indiantown
2005 Marlene Strickland Sarasota
2004 Martina "Teena" Borek Homestead
2003 Jennie Lee Zipperer Fort Myers
2002 Annette Barnett Land Branford
2001 Barbara Carlton Sidell
2000 Helen Houck Perry
1999 Vina Jean Banks Balm
1998 Nancy Gurnett Hardy Winter Haven
1997 Gertrude "Trudy" Carey Hillsborough County
1996 Norma Stokes Highlands County
1995 Louve "Vee" Frierson Platt Clewiston
  Patricia Robbins Miami
1994 Anne Wardlaw Dickinson Frostproof
1993 Sarah W. Bailey St. Johns County
1992 Carol C. Murphy Volusia County
1991 Ruth M. Tucker Brevard County
1990 Jeanette Barthle Pasco County
1989 Belle Jeffords Alachua County
1988 Carolyn Reed Kempfer Osceola-Brevard
1987 Dorothy Conner Shipes Lake County
1986 Ruth Wedgworth Belle Glade
1985 Jo Ann Smith Marion County

Official Forms

Print Resources

Contact Us About the Woman of the Year in Agriculture Award

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Office of the Commissioner
The Capitol
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0800

Cheryl Flood
(850) 488-3022
(850) 617-7939 Fax

Back to Top

Contact Us