Agriculture Press Release

January 5, 2000

Vina Jean Banks Named Woman of the Year in Agriculture

TALLAHASSEE Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford today announced that Vina Jean Banks has been selected to receive the "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" award for 1999.

Banks, of Balm, in Hillsborough County, is the 16th recipient of the award, which recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.

Vina Jean Banks

"Vina Jean Banks is an energetic promoter of the beef industry in Florida, but perhaps even more significant are her efforts to educate young people about agriculture," Crawford said. "She is truly an inspiration to all those with whom she has worked over the years at the local, state and national level."

A native of Iowa, where she grew up on a dairy and grain farm, Banks moved with her family to Riverview, Fla., in 1960. She married Windy Banks in 1968 and the couple bought land in southeast Hillsborough County, where they have raised two sons and operate a commercial cattle operation. She also helped her father develop a tropical fish farm, which Banks, her husband and oldest son, Cleve, bought in 1993 and have since expanded. For the last five years, Banks has been coordinator of livestock programs at the Florida State Fair, where she works with the youth livestock, steer, swine and sheep shows.

While working on the family cattle ranch and fish farm and at off-farm jobs over the years, Banks still has found time to make major contributions to cattle and youth organizations.

She has been a member of the Hillsborough County CattleWomen for more than 20 years, serving as president, vice president, and treasurer, and chairing numerous committees for special events. As chairman of the organizations major fund-raising project for more than seven years, Banks helped generate sales of more than $100,000, with profits going to provide college scholarships for agriculture students, holiday food baskets for the needy, and other projects. She is a past president and has chaired numerous committees for Florida CattleWomen Inc.

Perhaps here greatest achievement was as chairman of the 1997 National Beef Cook-Off, the largest beef promotion project of the American National CattleWomen and its state affiliates. For the three-day event, held in Tampa, Banks coordinated 26 committees and helped generate publicity for the beef industry and Florida agriculture from CBS, CNN and other local, state and national media.

Banks has been active in 4-H, FFA and other youth organizations since she was a 4-H Club member while growing up in Iowa. In addition to working with youths in the livestock programs at the Florida State Fair, Banks has assisted the Ag In the Classroom program in Hillsborough County.

Among other awards, she has received the FFA Honorary Chapter Farmer Award, the Florida Outstanding CattleWomen Award, the Hillsborough County Outstanding Women in Agriculture Award, and the 4-H Leadership Award from the Hillsborough County Extension Service.

The Woman of the Year in Agriculture award is sponsored by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Florida State Fair.

Crawford is scheduled to present the award to Banks on February 10, during the opening-day luncheon at the Florida State Fair in Tampa. Tickets for the event are available by calling the fairgrounds at 800-345-3247.

Previous winners of the "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" award include:

1998: Nancy Gurnett Hardy of Winter Haven, publisher of "The Florida Citrus Reporter" and writer for other trade publications.

1997: Gertrude "Trudy" Carey of Hillsborough County, manager of family beef and cattle businesses and promoter of the beef industry.

1996: Norma Stokes of Highlands County, a cattlewoman and effective communicator for the cattle industry and Florida agriculture.

1995: Louve "Vee" Frierson Platt of Clewiston, sugar cane grower and supporter of Glades farmers, and Patricia Robbins of Miami, executive director of Farm Share Inc., a non-profit food recovery and distribution organization.

1994: Anne Wardlaw Dickinson of Frostproof, an educator and promoter of Florida agriculture involved in citrus and cattle production.

1993: Sarah W. Bailey of St. Johns County, a cattlewoman active in agricultural and environmental issues.

1992: Carol C. Murphy, owner and operator of a foliage-production business in Volusia County.

1991: Ruth M. Tucker, Brevard County cattlewoman.

1990: Jeanette Barthle, Pasco County cattlewoman.

1989: Belle Jeffords, owner and operator of a cattle and farming operation in Alachua County.

1988: Carolyn Reed Kempfer, owner and operator of the 30,000-acre Deer Park Ranch in Osceola and Brevard counties.

1987: Dorothy Conner Shipes, a Lake County citrus grower and former Florida Citrus Commission member.

1986: Ruth Wedgworth, a businesswoman, farmer, and civic leader from Belle Glade.

1985: Jo Ann Smith, former assistant secretary with the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Marion County rancher.


For more information:

Richard Gunnels

(850) 488-3022

Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases