Agriculture Press Release

March 17, 1998

Disaster Relief Available to Farmers in Six Counties

TALLAHASSEE Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford announced today that farmers in six Florida counties that sustained considerable crop damage as a result of El Nino storms this winter can now apply for federal disaster assistance.

Growers in Dade, Broward, Monroe, Collier, Hendry and Palm Beach counties are eligible to apply for low-interest loans from the U.S. Department of Agricultures Farm Service Agency. The offices taking loan applications are located at 15600 SW 288th Street, Suite 406, in Homestead; 622 West Sugarland Highway in Clewiston; and 2976 State Road 15 (U.S. 441), in Belle Glade.

Farmers seeking more information about the program can call the Farm Service Agencys state headquarters in Gainesville at (352) 379-4540.


For More Information:

Terence McElroy
(850) 488-3022

Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases