Agriculture Press Release

May 19, 1999

Outdoor Burning Authority Now Rests with Local Districts

TALLAHASSEE Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford is further easing outdoor burning restrictions now that rain has increased and fire activity has decreased in some areas of the state. However, because parts of the state are still very dry, burning authorizations must be approved by forestry supervisors in local districts.

"Conditions are so varied across the state, we have to rely on the expertise of the local district supervisors as to whether it is safe to allow outdoor burning," Crawford said.

The burn ban was enacted in mid-April, when the drought created dangerous wildfire conditions across the state. Recent rain has reduced drought conditions in many parts of Florida. Where conditions permit, local district supervisors will now be able to authorize all types of open burning, including yard trash and camp fires.

Anyone planning to do any type of burning should contact their local Division of Forestry office, which is listed in the phone book and provided below. More information on the fire situation and the drought index of each district is provided on the Division of Forestry web site www.fl-dof.com.

Division of Forestry Offices and the Counties Covered

Blackwater District:
Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa (850) 957-4201.
Chipola River District:
Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Liberty, Holmes, Jackson, Walton, Washington (850) 872-4175.
Tallahassee District:
Leon, Wakulla, Gadsden, Franklin (850) 488-1871.
Perry District:
Taylor, Madison, Lafayette, Dixie (850) 838-229.
Suwannee District:
Baker, Columbia, Hamilton, Suwannee, Bradford, Union (904) 758-5700.
Jacksonville District:
Clay, Duval, Nassau (904) 693-5055.
Waccasassa Forestry Center:
Alachua, Putnam, Gilchrist, Marion, Levy (352) 955-2005.
Bunnell District:
Flagler, St. Johns, Volusia (904) 446-6787.
Withlacoochee Forestry Center:
Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Pasco, Sumter (352) 754-6777.
Orlando District:
Seminole, Orange, Osceola, Brevard (407) 856-6512.
Lakeland District:
Polk, Hillsborough, Pinellas (941) 648-3163.
Myakka River District:
Manatee, Sarasota, Charlotte, DeSoto, Hardee (941) 751-7629.
Okeechobee District:
Okeechobee, St. Lucie, Indian River, Glades, Highlands, Martin
(941) 462-5160.
Caloosahatchee District:
Lee, Collier, Hendry (941) 694-2181.
Everglades District:
Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe (954) 475-4120.


For more information:

Liz Compton
(850) 509-4323

Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases