Agriculture Press Release

June 10, 1998

Nominations For "Woman of The Year in Agriculture"
Now Being Accepted by Department, Crawford Announces

TALLAHASSEE -- Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 1998 "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" award.

The award, now in its 14th year, recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.

"This award spotlights the vital role of women in Florida agriculture and serves to encourage other women to get involved in the business," Crawford said. "Many women have made significant contributions over the years in developing and sustaining what is now a $6 billion industry."

Those nominated for the award will be judged by a panel familiar with Florida agriculture. The award will be presented in February at the opening-day luncheon of the 1999 Florida State Fair in Tampa.

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which sponsors the event, has sent nomination forms to agricultural organizations around the state. The deadline for submitting nominations to the Department is November 1, 1998. Nominations remain active for two years; after that time they must be resubmitted in order to be considered. Forms are available from the Department.

Previous winners of the award are:

Gertrude "Trudy" Carey of Hillsborough County, owner and manager of
family beef and dairy cattle businesses.

Norma Stokes of Highlands County, a cattlewoman and energetic promoter of
Florida agriculture.

Louve "Vee" Frierson Platt of Glades County, a sugar cane grower and
leader in preserving the agricultural industry in the Everglades area.

Patricia Robbins of Miami, executive director of Farm Share, a non-profit
food recovery and distribution organization based in Dade County.

Anne Wardlaw Dickinson of Frostproof, an educator and promoter for
Florida agriculture involved in citrus production, gift-fruit shipping, cow-calf

Sarah W. Bailey of St. Johns County, a cattlewoman active in agricultural and
environmental issues.

Carol C. Murphy, owner and operator of a foliage-production business in
Volusia County.

Ruth M. Tucker, Brevard County cattlewoman.

Jeanette Barthle, Pasco County cattlewoman.

Belle Jeffords, owner and operator of a cross-bred cattle and farming
operation in Alachua County.

1988: Carolyn Reed Kempfer, owner and operator of the 30,000-acre Deer Park
Ranch in Osceola and Brevard counties.

Dorothy Conner Shipes, a Lake County citrus grower and former Florida
Citrus Commission member.

Ruth Wedgworth, a businesswoman, farmer, grandmother and civic leader
from Belle Glade.

Jo Ann Smith, former assistant secretary with the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Marion County rancher.

To obtain nomination forms for the "Woman of the Year in Agriculture," write:

Bob Crawford, Commissioner
Woman of the Year in Agriculture Award
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
The Capitol LL-29
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0810

For information, call Richard Gunnels at (850) 488-3022.


For More Information:
Terence McElroy
Richard Gunnels
(850) 488-3022

Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases