Agriculture Press Release

June 16, 1999

Nominations For Woman of The Year in Agriculture Now Being Accepted by Department, Crawford Announces

TALLAHASSEE -- Florida Agriculture Commissioner Bob Crawford today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 1999 "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" award.

The award, now in its 15th year, recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.

"This award spotlights the vital role of women in Florida agriculture and serves to encourage other women to get involved in the business," Crawford said. "Many women have made significant contributions over the years in developing and sustaining what is now a $6 billion industry."

Those nominated for the award will be judged by a panel familiar with Florida agriculture. The award will be presented in February at the opening-day luncheon of the 2000 Florida State Fair in Tampa.

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which sponsors the event, has sent nomination forms to agricultural organizations around the state. The deadline for submitting nominations to the Department is November 1, 1999. Nominations remain active for two years; after that time they must be resubmitted in order to be considered. Forms are available from the Department.

Previous winners of the award are:

1998 Nancy Gurnett Hardy of Winter Haven, owner of a citrus industry newsletter and reporter on the industry.

1997 Gertrude "Trudy" Carey of Hillsborough County, owner and manager of  family beef and dairy cattle businesses.

1996 Norma Stokes of Highlands County, a cattlewoman and energetic promoter of Florida agriculture.

1995 Louve "Vee" Frierson Platt of Glades County, a sugar cane grower and leader in preserving the agricultural industry in the Everglades area.

Patricia Robbins of Miami, executive director of Farm Share, a non-profit food recovery and distribution organization based in Dade County.

1994 Anne Wardlaw Dickinson of Frostproof, an educator and promoter for Florida agriculture involved in citrus production, gift-fruit shipping, cow-calf operation.

1993 Sarah W. Bailey of St. Johns County, a cattlewoman active in agricultural and environmental issues.

1992 Carol C. Murphy, owner and operator of a foliage-production business in Volusia County.

1991 Ruth M. Tucker, Brevard County cattlewoman.

1990 Jeanette Barthle, Pasco County cattlewoman.

1989 Belle Jeffords, owner and operator of a cross-bred cattle and farming operation in Alachua County.

1988 Carolyn Reed Kempfer, owner and operator of the 30,000-acre Deer Park Ranch in Osceola and Brevard counties.

1987 Dorothy Conner Shipes, a Lake County citrus grower and former Florida Citrus Commission member.

1986 Ruth Wedgworth, a businesswoman, farmer, grandmother and civic leader from Belle Glade.

1985 Jo Ann Smith, former assistant secretary with the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Marion County rancher.

To obtain nomination forms for the "Woman of the Year in Agriculture," write:

Woman of the Year in Agriculture Award
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
The Capitol LL-29
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0810

For information, call Richard Gunnels at (850) 488-3022.

- 30 -

For more information:

Richard Gunnels
(850) 488-3022

Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases