Agriculture Press Release

August 13, 2003

Deadline for "Woman of the Year in Agriculture" nominations is November 1

TALLAHASSEE -- Florida Agriculture Commissioner Charles H. Bronson today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2003 “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award. The award, now in its 19th year, recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.

“This award spotlights the vital role of women in Florida agriculture and serves to encourage other women to get involved in the business,” Bronson said. “Many women have made significant contributions over the years in developing and sustaining this industry, which has an economic impact estimated at more than $50 billion annually.”

Those nominated for the award will be judged by a panel familiar with Florida agriculture. The award will be presented in February at the opening-day luncheon of the 2004 Florida State Fair in Tampa.

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which sponsors the event, has sent nomination forms to agricultural organizations around the state. The deadline for submitting nominations to the Department is November 1, 2003. Nominations remain active for two years; after that time they must be resubmitted in order to be considered.

For more information about the “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award including screening criteria and biographies of previous winners, or to obtain nomination forms, visit florida-agriculture.com/agwoman or call Richard Gunnels at (850) 488-3022.

Previous winners of the award are:

2002 Annette Barnett Land of Branford
2001 Barbara Carlton of Sidell
2000 Helen Houck of Perry
1999 Vina Jean Banks of Balm
1998 Nancy Gurnett Hardy of Winter Haven
1997 Gertrude “Trudy” Carey of Hillsborough County
1996 Norma Stokes of Highlands County
1995 Louve “Vee” Frierson Platt of Clewiston
Patricia Robbins of Miami
1994 Anne Wardlaw Dickinson of Frostproof
1993 Sarah W. Bailey of St. Johns County
1992 Carol C. Murphy, of Volusia County
1991 Ruth M. Tucker, of Brevard County
1990 Jeanette Barthle, of Pasco County
1989 Belle Jeffords, of Alachua County
1988 Carolyn Reed Kempfer, of Osceola-Brevard counties
1987 Dorothy Conner Shipes, of Lake County
1986 Ruth Wedgworth, of Belle Glade
1985 Jo Ann Smith, of Marion County

For more information:
Richard Gunnels
(850) 488-3022


Return to Agriculture News and Press Releases