Skip over navigation
Division of Marketing and Development
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Mayo Building, M-9
407 South Calhoun Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 617-7300

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Adam H. Putnam, Commissioner

August 4, 2010

Woman Of The Year In Agriculture Award Nomination Deadline Is November 1

Florida Agriculture Commissioner Charles H. Bronson today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2010 “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award.  The award, now in its 26th year, recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.

“This award spotlights the vital role of women in Florida agriculture and serves to encourage other women to get involved in the business,” Bronson said.  “Many women have made significant contributions over the years in developing and sustaining this important industry, which has an overall economic impact estimated at more than $100 billion annually.”

Those nominated for the award will be judged by a panel familiar with Florida agriculture.  The award will be presented on February 10, 2011, during the opening-day luncheon of the Florida State Fair in Tampa.

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which sponsors the event, has sent nomination forms to agricultural organizations around the state.  The deadline for submitting nominations to the Department is November 1, 2010.  Nominations remain active for two years; after that time they must be resubmitted in order to be considered.

For more information about the “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award including screening criteria and biographies of previous winners, or to obtain nomination forms, visit

Previous winners of the “Woman of the Year in Agriculture” award are:
2009   Marcia Lightsey, Lake Wales
2008   Patsy Nathe, of Dade City
2007   Colleen Boggs, of Homestead
2006   Iris Wall, of Indiantown
2005   Marlene Strickland, of Sarasota
2004   Martina “Teena” Borek, of Homestead
2003   Jennie Lee Zipperer, of Fort Myers
2002   Annette Barnett Land, of Branford
2001   Barbara Carlton, of Sidell
2000   Helen Houck, of Perry
1999   Vina Jean Banks, of Balm
1998   Nancy Gurnett Hardy, of Winter Haven
1997   Gertrude “Trudy” Carey, of Hillsborough County
1996   Norma Stokes, of Highlands County
1995   Louve “Vee” Frierson Platt, of Clewiston, and Patricia Robbins, of Miami
1994   Anne Wardlaw Dickinson, of Frostproof
1993   Sarah W. Bailey, of St. Johns County
1992   Carol C. Murphy, of Volusia County
1991   Ruth M. Tucker, of Brevard County
1990   Jeanette Barthle, of Pasco County
1989   Belle Jeffords, of Alachua County
1988   Carolyn Reed Kempfer, of Osceola-Brevard counties
1987   Dorothy Conner Shipes, of Lake County
1986   Ruth Wedgworth, of Belle Glade
1985   Jo Ann Smith, of Marion County

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader